Effli

iPhone Photos

In Graphics & Assorted Photographs, Technology on March 22, 2011 at 3:32 pm


Despite many tutorials on “how to take good photos with the iPhone” you never really learn how to use the bland iPhone’s camera.  In reality, though, the iPhone camera quality isn’t that bad (iPhone 3GS and iPhone 4, that is).  It can take HD video – and it’s the same camera.  The real problem is the plain “Auto” mode the camera is in.  With the right apps, this can easily be fixed. So, here is a useful tutorial on how to make your pictures more exciting.  Not every picture has to have a professional look – everyday things can look better too!  All the camera apps I use are free, so there’s no reason not to try them out.

1. Classic TOY camera

This is one of my favorite camera apps out there.  It has 16 film types you can use as of now, as well as pinhole, squara, snapshot, and action lens.  The film type I would recommend using would be overexposed.  My favorite used to be negative film, but that was before they updated the app and what was a nice, warm filter became a disgusting green stain on my photos.  If you want to see the pictures I have taken with the negative film, you can see it at the bottom of this article.  When choosing the film there is also a setting at the bottom, and you should probably choose “original” otherwise the colors will be too strong and unrealistic.  My advice in using iPhone camera apps: take as many shots as you can, it’s easy to delete them if you don’t like them.

Here are some pictures I took with the classic lens mode and the overexposed film:

Okay, I’m not done with this app yet.  The pinhole lens is quite interesting.  It basically takes 2 pictures and merges them together, and if you move the slider to “M” for manual, you can choose which two pictures to merge (Just take 2 pictures!)  Still using the overexposed mode:

I feel so tempted to share all my pictures, but I have to move on to other apps.  If you want to see more pictures, I’ll post them at the bottom!

 

2.Lomolomo

Many iPhone apps claim to have “lomo” settings, the popular toy camera which I personally have.  This particular app has a few filters, though I only like two: “Classic Lomo” and “Valentine Martini”.  I don’t use this app to often as it crops my pictures into squares and always adds a frame, which is annoying, because I have to go to Photoshop express and remove it.  Furthermore the picture filters that it has aren’t too special, especially if you keep using the same one.  Here are a few pictures I’ve taken using lomolomo:

 

3. Photoshop Express

Photoshop for the iPhone has many good as well as bad qualities.  You can use the effective adjustments of exposure, saturation, and contrast, but you can also put it through strange filters.  When you use Photoshop Express, you should really only use these functions: crop, rotate, exposure, saturation, and contrast (just don’t make it have too much contrast!).  As I said before, the iPhone camera isn’t that bad.  You just need good lighting and adjust the above mentioned things for a clear, bright, picture.  (Although of course for artistic reasons you can also have a fuzzy dark picture, I just wouldn’t recommend making it blurry on photoshop.)  Here are some pictures below:

 

 

 

4. More Beaute

Finally, we have MoreBeaute.  MoreBeaute increases 2 things: smoothness and brightness of a photo.  It works exceptionally well on people’s faces, and that’s all I have to say.  I don’t have particularly good examples, as the lighting in my room is very yellow, so I’ll leave you to try this app on your own.

I hope this helps make your quick, easy photos from your iPhone have quality as well!

 

Other Classic Toy pictures:

Negative Film:

Other film types:

  1. Interesting blog post. Definitely will try some of these!

  2. What do I search for Lomolomo? It doesn’t appear in the app store with such a name searched. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

