Effli

L’Atelier de Joël Robuchon, Afternoon Tea

In Food - HK on March 23, 2011 at 12:09 pm

Robuchon

Afternoon tea is not something that everyone enjoys, but for me it is a particularly special time!  I love to, in the middle of the day, go down to a new place and try their afternoon tea.  What I especially enjoy are scones.  Beautiful, hot, fresh scones spread with clotted cream and a nice jam just fulfills the body.  The petit sandwiches, if made well, can be delicious little afternoon snacks, snacks that aren’t just a bag of chips.  What goes perfectly with this, is, in my opinion, tea.  Many afternoon tea sets will come with a choice of tea, and being me, I always like to choose the one that has the most interesting flavor, and I have met a few teas I quite like.

Boulangerie Patisserie

L’Atelier de Joël Robuchon, Landmark.  I do not like to often travel back to places I have had afternoon tea, for the thrill of trying new places, but I have been at the boulangerie in Landmark quite a few times.  They have a set of 2 which really could feed 2-3 persons, even if you are hungry!

Here is the set for two, not including the desserts (and the set for two should only have 4 scones I believe):

Afternoon tea set for two (without the cakes yet!)

The sandwiches here are really aesthetically pleasing, which make it all the more enjoyable to eat.  They taste just as good as they look, which is pretty good in terms of afternoon tea.  However, they always serve the same 4 sandwiches, which is why I don’t go often.  A closer look at the sandwiches:

Sandwiches

Now for my favorite part (the scones):

Plain and raisin scones

 

And some of the various cakes:

 

Cakes

There are a lot of places in Hong Kong to try an afternoon tea, especially in hotels.  Robuchon is just one of those places you can comfortably treat yourself to an easy afternoon.

  1. Wow! I’m definitely going here for afternoon tea soon!

Leave a Reply

