Effli

Roll (Cake)

In Food - HK on March 28, 2011 at 10:08 am

I’ve been doing a lot of posts about food recently, and I’ve decided that I’d do one more before I move on to other topics (for now only of course, because no one can resist the temptation of food).

Everyone has a sweet tooth.  I myself don’t like sweet things too much, but some things are just too good!  Roll cakes are one of my favorite types of cakes, and when, walking down a street in Kowloon, I passed by the shop Roll, I decided to bring a few slices to my friend that I was visiting later that day.  After walking in I realized that they sold frozen yogurt as well, but kept to the task of buying the cakes. Unfortunately I had forgotten my camera that day and so my pictures may not be as good-quality as I would like, but here are the pictures below:

Roll

Roll

Strawberry Roll Cake

Hazelnut

Crispy Chocolate

I have to say, Roll’s cakes aren’t the best.  The texture of the cake was dry and there wasn’t enough of that fluffy whip cream.  The taste was average, though they did have variety – but then again it is a shop selling only roll cakes.  Roll sold mini roll cake slices, which are cute, but you can’t buy a whole roll cake by itself, which is kind of a bummer, even if you get to try more flavors.  I don’t think I’ll be going there again, there are better roll cakes to fill my eagerly waiting stomach.

Leave a Reply

