Effli

Grissini at the Grand Hyatt

In Food - HK on April 25, 2011 at 9:31 pm

Grissini is famous for, well, their Grissini sticks.  In other restaurants, bread baskets usually come with a few hard, dense, bread sticks that are warm at best, but at Grissini, their sticks are long, chewy, and soft.  I suppose it depends on how you like your sticks, but Grissini’s sticks fresh from the oven are just sublime.  The vinegar they served along with the olive oil was an aged balsamic, something that a lot of restaurants wouldn’t normally spend the money on.

Grissini Sticks

Sunday brunch also came with a glass of sparkling wine, Proseco, which went well with the meal.

Proseco

Sunday brunch was a buffet, and we naturally started with the appetizers.  There were thinly sliced carpaccio, artichokes and eggplants at the salad table, slices of veal covered in a light dressing, and much much more. There was also Burrata, a very good quality buffalo mozzarella cheese.  It was very milky and had a sort of chewy texture that I enjoyed.  I don’t think I had the stomach to try everything but everything I ate not only tasted good but was made of the best, freshest ingredients.

Appetizer Plate

Notice in my above plate the thing closest to the camera is a relatively thick slice of beef tongue.  Beef tongue is chewy and tender at the same time; it’s not like a steak that can easily get tough.  In my life at least, I usually  find beef tongue on a skewer, in a Japanese restaurant.  This cut of beef tongue was certainly no worse.  In fact it was much thicker and plumper than my “usual”,  boiled in mildly salted water with a big gourmet sausage and a beef roll.  The sausage was good too, but it contained a bit too much fat.  Some of these (including the beef tongue, which I acquired in many rounds to the buffet) are to be found on the plate below.

A "Main Course" Plate

At the same table there was a container of soft shell crab which I think many people forgot about in the midst of the boiled meats and lobster, which I’ll get to later.  Though these are quite common, Grissini made a point of making the shells nice and crispy.

So for the lobster.  I think this was the highlight of the meal, and I’m sure that many diners thought so too (you could tell by how often the waiters needed to refill this pot).  The lobsters were huge.  This is saying something considering how much one has to pay for a lobster in Hong Kong.  I’m not sure where these came from (we didn’t ask, but perhaps Boston?  I mean, that was the immediate assumption) but the claws were the biggest that I’ve seen.  We each got a plate of it, and my friend even saw another person go have the lobster tossed with pasta at the pasta station.  And, the lobsters were not only big, but were cooked well in a slightly spiced wine and tomato-based sauce which I quite liked.

Lobster Plate

Huge Lobster Claw

As I’ve mentioned above, Grissini also had a pasta table where you can tailor your own pasta.  I wouldn’t bother going here – the pappardelle that I chose was very al dente and had a nice eggy taste, but the sauces were uninspiring (unless you’re going to add the lobster to the pasta)!

Pappardelle

Now, after a full belly, for the desserts.  The dessert table was considerably big and had variety, but I only managed to try a few.  The custard cake was good but not exceptional, and I ate the meringue (because I like meringue) off the meringue cake.  There was also a caramel cream puff that I tasted, and I think the caramel part on top was too thick and hard.  Based on my experience, Cipriani, another Italian restaurant in a building across from HSBC, had better desserts.

Dessert Plate

All in all though, I love Grissini.  I hadn’t been there for a long time, and the previous times I’d been I didn’t realize the quality this restaurant had.  Some other Italian restaurants may taste good, but this restaurant used very good ingredients to make its dishes, which are fairly traditional.  I expect to come back here soon.

  1. My dear i like you web …..one thing at grissini it’s not an aged balsamic, it’s a reduction of balsamic vinegar…..
    This think dipping it’s and american way…..
    Aged balsamic it’s totally different……not with bread……..
    only with cheese parmigiano reggiano
    Please before your write….think about it

Leave a Reply

