Effli

Adobe iPad Apps

In Graphics & Assorted Photographs, Technology on April 26, 2011 at 8:17 pm

After getting the iPad (I have a mini review of it here: https://effli.wordpress.com/2011/04/16/new-ipad-2-review/) I realized that good apps on the iPad are surprisingly rare.  Sure, there are some fun games, some pretty apps, but once you put them on the iPad, not many of them are that useful or fun.  Good apps are hard to find! This post is going to be about Adobe iPad products.  I will post one on other iPad apps shortly.

I tend to buy a lot of Free Apps not because I’m cheap but because if it’s free, why not download it?  I always think it’s better to download and delete than to contemplate, because apps might be on sale!  One free app, Adobe Ideas, has quickly become my favorite. (I’m about to go on about Adobe products now, and if you aren’t interested in design you might want to skip down.)   Adobe Ideas is a sketching software, and allows you to adjust brush size, opacity, and color.  Unlike many applications where you have a limited choice of colors, Adobe Ideas gives you the whole range of web colors.  You do need to pay $4.99 USD if you want to buy layers, which is really useful.  A recommendation for improvement is to have a color picker when choosing colors so that when you have a non-white background, you can easily erase mistakes without having to buy layers. Another feature I also really like is how I can create color themes from pictures and work with them.  If you want your own color themes without having to take them from pictures, you can just make a color chart jpg (on your computer photoshop) and get the color themes from there.

Being Adobe, the Adobe Ideas interface is really sleek:

Adobe Ideas Interface

Here are some examples of what I’ve done with the program.

Afternoon Tea Set

Easter Chicken

Another Adobe app that is already out, Photoshop Express, is mediocre.  It is nothing like the actual photoshop in any respect, and its only useful features are adjusting saturation, contrast, and exposure (as well as rotating and cropping).  The other effects there are disastrous, they ruin your photo.

Photoshop Express interface: This photo was NOT taken by the iPad, and NOT entirely edited with Photoshop Express

Now, Adobe is rolling out a trio of iPad apps, coming out early May: Adobe Eazel, Nav, and Color Lava.  Eazel is much like Adobe Ideas, except you get more features (it costs $5) and your tools can be brought up by using all 5 fingers.  I’ve only looked at the commercials online, and it is a pretty cool design but does not differ so much in its function from Adobe Ideas, from what I can see.

Adobe Eazel

Adobe Nav is an iPad based navigator for toolbars on Adobe programs on your computer, such as Photoshop.  You can customize your own toolbar with tools from the Adobe program and work full screen on your computer.  I don’t think this is that useful, but $2 for an Adobe product might just be worth it.

Adobe Nav

The app I’m really interested in is Adobe Color Lava.  Color Lava is a digital artists palette.  You can mix colors, have colors bleed onto other colors, wet your brush and mix again on Color Lava.  I love to sort my colors and create color themes so this program is ideal.  It is also the coolest of all three apps, and it’s fun simply to go wild with colors!

Here’s a snapshot of it, but if you want to watch the video to see how it works, go here: http://www.photoshop.com/products/mobile/colorlava.

Adobe Color Lava

There is also another program that I have and would like to see in action – Adobe Content Viewer.  It’s free, as you need Adobe InDesign on your computer to use it.  Using InDesign, you can create special iPad books/magazines that are interactive.  On watching the tutorials online, the tools seem pretty self-explanatory, and watching the new features video I think I can do it.  There’s only one problem: no matter what button I press, I can’t get the toolbars to show up (I have Adobe CS5), which is extremely frustrating.  This also means I can’t do anything with InDesign, so I’m hoping to solve this problem.  But if this does work it would be really cool to create projects with!

Leave a Reply

